Commonwealth Health Professions and Partners Alliance

In 2009, the health professional associations accredited to the Commonwealth formed the Commonwealth Health Professions Alliance (CHPA). In 2020, the CHPA changed its name to the Commonwealth Health Professions and Partners Alliance.

The CHPA consider that by working together they can more efficiently and effectively represent and support health professionals in Commonwealth countries and promote high standards of care and equity in access to care for Commonwealth peoples.

CHPA Contact
Commonwealth Health Professions Alliance


To stay updated and informed in the midst of an unprecedented inflow of information, some of it inaccurate, the best and most reliable source of information is the World Health Organisation. Every health professional should regularly access the WHO website for the latest information. Go to:

2021 Civil Society Policy Forum

Equitable and appropriate access to quality medicines and vaccines in the Commonwealth: innovative approaches and lessons learned from COVID-19

The 2021 Commonwealth Civil Society Policy Forum (CCSPF) was held as a virtual meeting Tuesday 18 May 2021. Videos of the meeting can be viewed below, in addition to the program and the policy brief with recommendations. The CCSPF was hosted by the Commonwealth Pharmacists Association (CPA) on behalf of the Commonwealth Health Professions and Partners Alliance.

>> CCSPF 2021 Policy Brief Final
>> 2021 CCSPF Media Release


>> View the full video of the CCSPF
Part 1 HE Patricia Scotla
nd QC Welcome address
Part 2 Professor Zaheer Babar Key Note address: Challenges to equity and access to medicines and vaccines - a health systems approach
>> Part 3 Case Studies Innovative approaches to support access to medicines and vaccines during COVID-19
>> Part 4 Panel Discussion Reflections on equitable access to COVID-19 vaccines programs
Part 5 Dr Jim Campbell Working for a future of equitable access to medicines and vaccines
>> Part 6 Ms Victoria Rutter Recommendations from the Forum
>> The contribution of pharmacists during COVID-19

>> Victoria Rutter
>> Zaheer Babar
>> Greg Perry
>> Emmanuel Mujuru
Nduta Kamere

>> Yuanquiong Hu

>> Jim Campbell


CHPA changes its name

At its 12th Annual General Meeting in June 2020, members of the CHPA passed a resolution to change its name to more accurately reflect its membership and to be more inclusive. The new name is the Commonwealth Health Professions and Partners Alliance although the acronym CHPA remains. This is an exciting development for the CHPA to reinforce its dedication and determination to support health professionals and other health practitioners to improve the health of all citizens of the Commonwealth, particularly in these difficult times.

__________________________________________ ___________________________________________

Commonwealth Coronavirus COVID-19 Tracker

The Commonwealth Secretariat has developed a coronavirus tracker that shows daily cases in member countries. The tracker collects data from the World Health Organization (WHO) and shows the total confirmed coronavirus cases and deaths in affected Commonwealth countries. Go to the website and click on the ‘play’ button next to the animated infographic. View the media release.